Audition Nightmare!

Not too long ago, I had an incredibly vivid and horrifying nightmare. In retrospect, it’s pretty funny, so I thought I’d put it out there. I want to emphasize the fact that this was a DREAM and not something that actually happened!

I was attending a Chicago Symphony Orchestra concert, and after the concert was over, I struck up a conversation with Rob Kassinger. We were having a great time talking shop and all that, and for some reason he invited me to come back to DePaul with him to hang out.

We get back to DePaul and go into the bass room. Upon entering the room, Rob says to me,

“Well, why don’t you grab one of the school basses and play something for me.”

As I go to grab a bass and a bow off the bass rack, the entire CSO bass section walks into the room. Horrified by what I’m seeing, I watch as they all grab chairs and situate themselves so they can all see me properly.

“Nothing to worry about, Ben! We’re all bass players here! Just play whatever you have ready,” said Rob.

Smiling feebly, I dive into the Courante from Bach’s 1st cello suite.

Feeling pretty good about the way I was playing, I look up, expecting to see foots tapping and mild expressions.

NOT!

Shocked, I observe grimaces, shaking heads, yawns and every other imaginable facial expression you wouldn’t want to see during an audition. I even think Joe Guastafeste was talking quietly on his cell phone in the back.

I finish playing, and everybody but Rob begins to make for the door.

Approaching me with a kind, fatherly expression on his face, he says,

“Hey, you know, maybe you should try something else, a different major, perhaps…”

At this point, I woke up, thankful that it was only a dream!!

~ by benjamin86 on November 24, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
