Cliche’

Friday evening, I was heading down to Roosevelt University in Chicago for a lesson with my teacher, who is on the bass faculty there. I had an audition scheduled at Roosevelt the next day, and I thought it would be cool to sort of get my bearings and see where everything is.

My dad was kind enough to take a bit of time off work and help me schlep some bass luggage (my stool–can’t play standing to save my life)from Columbus (where we parked) to Roosevelt, which is on Michigan Avenue.

Now, at the time, the far left and right sides of the streets of Chicago were like snow swamps. Over on Columbus, I bravely parked our van in the midst of the white-mixed-with-tarry-black sludge. I wasn’t exactly happy about having to wade my way through through the foot and a half deep sludge to the back of my van to unload my gear, but what else could I do?

 carinsnow.jpg

Shivering slightly because snow had gotten into my shoes (and socks!), I made my way with my dad across the park to Roosevelt. Thinking longingly of the warmth inside the college and the potential vending machines that would surely dispense hot chocolate, I quickened my pace.

Grudgingly, I paused at Michigan Avenue because the white, walking stick figure had suddenly changed to the red hand. Standing on the edge of the sidewalk closest to the street, I wondered vaguely why my dad was standing a good 6 feet behind me. As I turned my head to ask him why, a bus suddenly plowed its way through a pool of snow and black water directly in front of me.

SPLASH!!!!

The icy water stung my face and hands (and my poor Mooradian bass case) with a vengeance! Gasping, shivering, and staring in unbelief at the back of the bus that indifferently sped away, I turned to look at my dad, who was roaring with laughter!

As I pushed sopping wet hair out of my eyes, my dad said,

“I bet that bus driver is saying to himself right now, ‘Got one!!'”

I relayed this little story to Andy (my teacher) an hour or so later. He too, laughed and said,

“That’s so cliche'”

As I ran that statement through my mind, I suddenly realized he was right! An image of a man in a business suit, who was having an exceptionally bad day already, but just had a bus splash any icy puddle all over his suit from Sears, splashed–er, flashed through my mind.

I also realized why my dad was standing six feet behind me right before it happened.

~ by benjamin86 on February 5, 2008.

3 Responses to “Cliche’”

  1. Haha I love this story. It totally sounds like something that would happen to me.

  2. lol thanks for your comment. You’re the first one EVER to comment on my blog. That makes you cool in my book.

  3. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Fissile.

Leave a Reply

 
